Click the File menu > New Model command to display the New Model form. Click the drop-down box to set the units to .. Click on the Shells button to display the Shells form. In that form: Select Cylinder in the Shell Type drop-down list. Accept the default Num of Divisions, Angular, 16. Type 8 in the Number of Divisions, Z edit box. Type 20 in the Cylinder Height edit box. Type 10 in the Radius edit box. Click the OK button. Click in the “X” in the upper right-hand corner of the X-Y Plane @ Z=0 window to close it. Click the Set Display Options button (or the View menu > Set Display Options command) to display the Display Options for Active Window form. In that form: Check the Fill Objects box. Click the OK button. Click the Edit menu > Add To Model From Template command to display the New Model form. In that form click on the Shells button to display the Shells form. In that form: Select Spherical Dome in the Shell Type drop-down list. Accept the default Num Divisions, Angular, 16. Type 4 in the Number of Divisions, Z edit box. Type 10 in the Radius, R edit box. Accept the default Roll Down Angle,T, 90. Uncheck the Restraints check box if it is not already unchecked. Click the Locate Origin button to display the Coordinate System form. Note: The Coordinate System form is being used to define a location of the origin of a new coordinate system and its rotation with respect to the global coordinate system. The origin point of the template will be inserted at the origin of this newly defined coordinate system. In the Coordinate System form: Select the 3D option. In the Translations area, type 20 in the Z edit box. Click the OK buttons on the Coordinate System and Shell forms to exit all forms. Press the F7 key on the keyboard to toggle the grid lines off.
Monday, July 02, 2007
Dome Cylindrical Structure
Labels: SAP
Wall Resisting Hydrostatic Pressure
-
Hydrostatic Loading
-
Joint Patterns
-
Click the File menu > New Model command to display the New Model form.
-
Click the drop-down box to set the units to .
-
Click on the Wall template button to display the Shear Wall form. In that form:
-
Type 30 in the Number of Divisions, X edit box.
-
Type 15 in the Number of Divisions, Z edit box.
-
Type 1 in the Division Space, X edit box.
-
Type 1 in the Division Space, Z edit box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the “X” in the top right-hand corner of the 3-D View window to close it.
-
Click the drop-down box in the status bar to change the units to .
-
Click the Define menu > Materials command to display the Define Materials form. Highlight the CONC material and click the Modify/Show Material button to display the Material Property Data form. In that form:
-
Verify that the Modulus of Elasticity is 3600 and Poisson’s ratio is 0.2.
-
Click the OK buttons on the Material Property Data and Define Materials forms to close the forms.
-
Click the drop-down box in the status bar to change the units to .
-
Select all of the support joints at the bottom of the wall by “windowing.”
-
Click the Assign menu > Joint > Restraints command to display the Joint Restraints form. In that form:
-
Click the fixed base fast restraint button to set all degrees of freedom (U1, U2, U3, R1, R2 and R3) as restrained.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the Define menu > Joint Patterns command to display the Define Pattern Names form. In that form:
-
Type HYDRO in the edit box in the Patterns area.
-
Click the Add New Pattern Name button.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the Select All button on the side tool bar.
-
Click the Assign menu > Joint Patterns command to display the Pattern Data form. In that form:
-
Select HYDRO from the Pattern Name drop-down list.
Note: Press the F1 key on the keyboard for context sensitive help on the form illustrating the definition of the Constants. When finished reading the help, click the “X” in the top right-hand corner of the Help window to close it.
-
Type -1 in the Constant C edit box.
-
Type 15 in the Constant D edit box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the Select All button .
-
Click the Assign menu > Area Loads > Surface Pressure (All) command to display the Area Surface Pressure Load form. In that form:
-
Select the By Joint Pattern option.
-
Select HYDRO from the Pattern drop-down list.
-
Type .0624 in the Multiplier edit box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the Show Undeformed Shape button to remove the displayed joint force assignments.
-
Click the Run Analysis button to display the Set Analysis Cases to Run form. In that form:
-
Highlight (select) MODAL in the Case Name list and click the Run/Do Not Run Case button.
-
Verify that the DEAD analysis case is set to Run in the Action list.
-
Click the Run Now button to run the analysis.
-
When the analysis is complete check the messages in the SAP Analysis Monitor window (there should be no warnings or errors) and then click the OK button to close the window.
-
Right click on the center joint at the top of the wall and note the Y-direction displacement.
-
Click the Lock/Unlock Model button and click the resulting OK button to unlock the model.
-
Select the joints along the sides of the model by “windowing” each side separately.
-
Click the Assign menu > Joint > Restraints command to display the Joint Restraints form. In that form:
-
Click the fixed base fast restraint button to set all degrees of freedom (U1, U2, U3, R1, R2 and R3) as restrained.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the Run Analysis button to display the Set Analysis Cases to Run form. In that form, click the Run Now button to run the analysis.
-
When the analysis is complete check the messages in the SAP Analysis Monitor window (there should be no warnings or errors) and then click the OK button to close the window.
-
Right click on the center joint at the top of the wall and note the Y-direction displacement
Labels: SAP
Barrel Vaulted
-
Add To Model From Template
-
Response Combinations
-
New Model From Template
-
Click the File menu > New Model command to display the New Model form.
-
Click the drop-down box to the units to .
-
Click on the Shells button to display the Shells form. In that form:
-
Select Barrel Shell in the Shell Type drop-down list.
-
Accept the default Number of Divisions, Axial, 8.
-
Accept the default Number of Divisions, Angular, 8.
-
Type 40 in the Length, L edit box.
-
Type 35 in the Roll Down Angle, T edit box.
-
Type 20 in the Radius, T edit box.
-
Uncheck the Restraints check box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click in the 3-D View window to make sure it is active. The window is highlighted when it is active.
-
Click the Select All button on the side toolbar to select the entire structure.
-
Click the Edit menu > Move command to display the Move form. In that form:
-
Type 10 in the Delta Z edit box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the Edit menu > Add To Model From Template command to display the New Model form. In that form click on the Shells button to display the Shells form. In that form:
-
Select Barrel Shell in the Shell Type drop-down list.
-
Accept the default Number of Divisions, Axial, 8.
-
Accept the default Number of Divisions, Angular, 8.
-
Type 40 in the Length, L edit box.
-
Type 35 in the Roll Down Angle, T edit box.
-
Type 30 in the Radius, R edit box.
-
Uncheck the Restraints check box if it is not already unchecked.
-
Click the Locate Origin button to display the Coordinate System form. In that form:
-
Select the 3D option.
-
Type 25 in the Z edit box in the Translations area.
-
Click the OK buttons on the Coordinate System and Shells forms to exit all forms.
-
-
Click in the Y-Z Plane @ X=-20 window to make sure it is active.
-
Verify that the drop-down list for the Coordinate System shows on the Status Bar.
-
Click the Set Display Options button (or the View menu > Set Display Options command) to display the Display Options for Active Window form. In that form:
-
Check the Labels box in the Joints area.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Right click on joint 82 in the Y-Z Plane @ X=-20 window. The Point Information form is displayed.
-
Highlight the Y-coordinate (-17.2073) and press the Ctrl and the C keys on the keyboard at the same time to copy the value to the clipboard.
-
Click the Cancel button to close the Point Information form.
-
Click the Edit menu > Add To Model From Template command to display the New Model form. In that form click on the Wall button to display the Shear Wall form. In that form:
-
Type 8 in the Number of Divisions, X edit box.
-
Type 4 in the Number of Divisions, Z edit box.
-
Type 5 in the Division Width, X edit box.
-
Type 2.5 in the Division Width, Z edit box.
-
Uncheck the Restraints check box if it is not already unchecked.
-
Click the Edit Grid button to display the Define Grid Data form. In that form:
-
Click the Locate System Origin button to display the Coordinate System form. In that form:
-
Select the 3D option.
-
Highlight the Y edit box in the Translations area and press the Ctrl and the V keys on the keyboard at the same time to paste the -17.2073 value from the clipboard.
-
Type 15 in the Z edit box in the Translations area.
-
Click the OK buttons on the Coordinate System, Define Grid Data and Shear Wall forms to exit all forms.
-
-
-
Verify that the drop-down list for the Coordinate System shows on the Status Bar.
-
Right click on joint 1 in the Y-Z Plane @ X=-20 window. The Point Information form is displayed.
-
Highlight the Y-coordinate (-11.4715) and press the Ctrl and the C keys on the keyboard at the same time to copy the value to the clipboard.
-
Click the Cancel button to close the Point Information form.
-
Click the Edit menu > Add To Model From Template command to display the New Model form. In that form click on the Wall button to display the Shear Wall form. In that form:
-
Type 8 in the Number of Divisions, X edit box.
-
Type 4 in the Number of Divisions, Z edit box.
-
Type 5 in the Division Width, X edit box.
-
Type 2.5 in the Division Width, Z edit box.
-
Uncheck the Restraints check box if it is not already unchecked.
-
Check the Use Custom Grid Spacing and Locate Origin check boxes.
-
Click the Edit Grid button to display the Define Grid Data form. In that form:
-
Click the Locate System Origin button to display the Coordinate System form. In that form:
-
Select the 3D option.
-
Highlight the Y edit box in the Translations area and press the Ctrl and the V keys on the keyboard at the same time to paste the -11.4715 value from the clipboard.
-
Click the OK buttons on the Coordinate System, Define Grid Data and Shear Wall forms to exit all forms.
-
-
-
Verify that the drop-down list for the Coordinate System shows on the Status Bar.
-
Click in the Y-Z Plane @ X=-20 window to make sure it is active.
-
Click the View menu > Set 2D View command to display the Set 2D View form. In that form:
-
Select the X-Z plane option.
-
Type -11.4715 in the Y= edit box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Select all of the objects in this view by “windowing.”
-
Click the View menu > Set 2D View command to display the Set 2D View form. In that form:
-
Select the X-Z plane option.
-
Type -17.2073 in the Y= edit box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Select all of the objects in this view by “windowing.”
-
Click the View menu > Show Selection Only command.
-
Click the Perspective Toggle button .
-
Click the View menu > Show Grid command to toggle the grids off.
-
Click the View menu > Show Axes command to toggle the axes off.
-
Click the Draw menu > Draw Poly Area command to display the Properties of Object form. Verify that ASEC1 is shown in the Property drop-down box.
-
In the X-Z perspective view, click on joints 163, 195, 73 and 1, in that order, and press the Enter key on the keyboard to draw an area object.
-
Click the Set Select Mode button on the side toolbar to exit Draw mode and enter Select mode.
-
Click on the just drawn area object to select it.
-
Click the Edit menu > Mesh Areas command to display the Mesh Selected Shells form.
-
Fill in this form as shown in the figure and click the OK button.
Note: It is difficult to figure out whether to mesh shells 3 by 8 or 8 by 3. It is often easiest to just go ahead and try one way, and if it isn’t right, simply click the Undo button and mesh the shells the other way.
-
Select all of the objects in the X-Z perspective view by “windowing.”
-
Click the Edit menu > Replicate command to display the Replicate form. In that form:
-
Select the Mirror Tab.
-
In the Mirror About Line area select the Parallel to Z option.
-
In the Intersection of Plane with XY Plane area, type 0 in the x1 edit box if it is not already entered.
-
Type 1 in the x2 edit box.
-
Type 0 in the y1 edit box if it is not already entered.
-
Type 0 in the y2 edit box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the View menu > Set 2D View command to display the Set 2D View form. In that form:
-
Select the X-Y plane option.
-
Type 0 in the Z= edit box if it is not already entered.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Select all of the joints at this level by “windowing.”
-
Click the Assign menu > Joint > Restraints command to display the Joint Restraints form. In that form:
-
Verify that the Translation 1, 2 and 3 boxes are all checked.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the View menu > Set 2D View command to display the Set 2D View form. In that form:
-
Select the Y-Z plane option.
-
Type 20 in the X= edit box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the Show Undeformed Shape button to reset the window title.
-
Click the View menu > Show All command.
-
Click the drop-down box in the status bar to change the units to .
-
Click the Define menu > Materials command to display the Define Materials form.
-
Click on CONC in the Materials area to highlight it (select it), and then click the Modify/Show Material button to display the Material Property Data form. In that form:
-
Verify 3600 is entered in the Modulus of Elasticity edit box.
-
Verify 0.2 is entered in the Poisson’s Ratio edit box.
-
Click the OK buttons on the Material Property Data and Define Materials forms to exit all forms.
-
Click the drop-down box in the status bar to change the units to .
-
Click the Define menu > Materials command to display the Define Materials form.
-
Click on CONC in the Materials area to highlight it (select it), and then click the Modify/Show Material button to display the Material Property Data form. In that form:
-
Verify that 4.661E-03 is entered in the Mass per unit Volume edit box.
-
Verify that 0.15 is entered in the Weight per unit Volume edit box.
-
Click the OK buttons on the Material Property Data and Define Material forms to exit all forms.
-
Click the Define menu > Area Sections command to display the Area Sections form. In that form:
-
Click the Modify/Show Section button to display the Area Section Data form. In that form:
-
Verify that the Material Name is CONC.
-
Verify that the Shell option is chosen in the Area Type area.
-
Verify that both the Membrane and Bending thicknesses are 1.
-
Verify that the Shell option is chosen in the Type area.
-
Click the OK buttons on the Area Section Data and Area Sections forms to exit all forms.
-
-
-
Click the Define menu > Load Cases command to display the Define Loads form. In that form:
-
Type LIVE in the Load Name edit box.
-
Select LIVE from the Type drop-down box.
-
Click the Add New Load button.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the Define menu > Combinations command to display the Define Response Combinations form. In that form:
-
Click the Add New Combo button to display the Response Combination Data form. In that form:
-
Accept the default Response Combination Name, COMB1.
-
Accept the default Combination Type, Linear Add.
-
Select DEAD in the Case Name drop-down box (if it is not already selected) and type 1 in the Scale Factor edit box (if not already entered).
-
Click the Add button.
-
Select LIVE in the Case Name drop-down box.
-
Click the Add button.
-
Click the OK buttons on the Response Combination Data and Define Response Combinations forms to exit all forms.
-
-
Click in the 3-D View window to activate it. Be careful not to accidentally select any objects when you do this.
-
Click the View menu > Set Limits command to display the Set Limits form. In that form:
-
Type 25 in the Min edit box in the Set Z Axis Limits area.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Select all of the displayed objects in the 3D View window (i.e., all objects in the roof barrel) by “windowing.”
-
Click the Assign menu > Area Loads > Uniform (Shell) command to display the Area Uniform Loads form. In that form:
-
Select LIVE from the Load Case Name drop-down box.
-
Type .3 in the Load edit box.
-
Verify that Gravity is selected in the Direction drop-down box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Click the Show Undeformed Shape button to remove the display of area uniform loads and to remove the limits that were set.
-
Click the Run Analysis button to display the Set Analysis Cases to Run form. In that form:
-
Click on MODAL in the Case Name list to highlight it.
-
Click the Run/Do Not Run Case button.
-
Click the Run Now button.
-
When the analysis is complete, check the messages in the SAP Analysis Monitor window (there should be no warnings or errors) and then click the OK button to close the window.
-
Click in the window entitled 3-D View to activate it.
-
Click the drop-down box in the status bar to change the units to .
-
Right click on the center joint of the upper barrel vault to see its self weight displacement in inches.
-
Right click on the center joint of the lower barrel vault to see its self weight displacement in inches.
-
Click the Show Deformed Shape button to display the Deformed Shape form. In that form:
-
Select COMB1 from the Case/Combo Name drop-down box.
-
Click the OK button.
-
Right click on the center joint of the upper barrel vault to see its self weight plus live load displacement in inches.
-
Right click on the center joint of the lower barrel vault to see its self weight plus live load displacement in inches.
Labels: SAP